Our Board

Hagen Stehr A.O. - Chairman

Mr Stehr is a prominent figure in the aquaculture industry with more than 50 years experience. His family holds a significant interest in the Southern Bluefin Tuna catch and Kingfish grow out facility. Mr Stehr's achievements include:

  • Founding member of Australian Bight Seafood.

  • Founding member of Australian Tuna Boat Owners Association.

  • Chairman of Australian Maritime and Fisheries Academy since 1997. 

  • Former Chairman of South Australian Marine Finfish Farmers Association.

  • Chairman of Industry Training Council Advisory Body.

  • Founding Director of Clean Seas Seafood.

  • Board member of the South Australian Aquaculture Advisory Council.

  • Awarded Officer of the Order of Australia (A.O.) in 1998.

  • Awarded Honorary Doctorate by University of Sunshine Coast.

Bob Miller - Chief Executive Officer

Mr Miller is the current CEO of the AMFA. 

Hon Nick Bolkus

The Honourable Mr Nick Bolkus has a Bachelor of Law and was a former Cabinet Minister during the Hawke/Keating Governments between 1987 - 1996.  He was a Senator representing South Australia from 1981 - 2005. Mr Bolkus has served as a board member of the following companies:

  • Director, Australian Maritime & Fisheries Academy Board

  • Chairman of Nuturf Australia Pty Ltd.

  • Envirogreen Pty Ltd.

  • Wondertreat Australia Pty Ltd.

  • Adviser to Australian Hokkien Association.

Dr Mehdi Doroudi

Dr Doroudi has a PHD in the field of Marine Biology and Aquaculture and a Doctorate of Veterinary science. 

  • Director, Australian Maritime & Fisheries Academy Board

  • Group Executive Director Primary Industries and Regions South Australia (PIRSA).

  • Chief Scientist (SARDI).

  • Research Director Department Primary Industries Victoria.

  • Research Scientist NSW Fisheries.

Brian Jeffriess A.M. -Emeritus Director

Mr Jefferies has a Diploma of Education and a B.A .(Economics). His considerable experience in the aquaculture industry includes:

  • Director, Australian Maritime & Fisheries Academy Board

  • CEO Australian Bluefin Tuna Industry Association.

  • Commonwealth Fisheries Association.

  • Aquaculture Advisory Council.

  • Fisheries and Aquaculture Research Advisory Committee.

  • Australian Fisheries Management Authority.

Steve Moriarty

Mr Moriarty is a well-known identity within the fishing industry. He has technical qualifications as a Master 5 (Fishing) and a Marine Engine Driver 2. Mr Moriarty is currently a member of the following:

  • Director, Australian Maritime & Fisheries Academy Board

  • Managing Director of Southern Waters Marine Products Ltd.

  • Member SA Oyster Growers Association.

  • Member of SA Rock Lobster Advisory Committee.

Marcus Stehr

Mr Marcus Stehr has over 25 years of practical fishing knowledge and is the current Managing Director of Stehr Group Pty Ltd in Port Lincoln. Mr Stehr has maritime technical qualifications as Master 4 Fishing/Trading Skippers certificates, Marine Engine Driver 1 and is a licensed Dive Master. Mr Stehr serves (has served) on the following boards:

  • Director, Australian Maritime & Fisheries Academy Board

  • Director of Australian Tuna Fisheries.

  • Inaugural board member of Clean Seas Seafood Limited.

  • Board member of South Australian Marine Finfish Association.

  • Executive Director of Australian Southern Bluefin Tuna Industry Association.

  • Deputy member of Aquaculture Advisory Committee.

  • Board member of Australian Maritime and Fisheries Academy.

  • Inaugural board member of Seafood Industry Australia.

Patrick Conlon

Patrick Conlon is a former South Australian politician who represented the Electoral district of Elder in the South Australian House of Assembly as a member of the Labor Party from 1997 to 2014

Michael V.jfif
Michael Van Doorn

Mr van Doorn has over 35 years experience within the fishing and aquaculture industry. Current Director of Dinko Tuna Farmers Pty Ltd and Southern Eyre Diving. Technical qualifications as a Master 5 (Fishing) and a Marine Engine Driver Grade 2

  • Director, Dinko Tuna Farmers Pty Ltd

  • Director, Southern Eyre Diving

  • Board member, Australian Maritime & Fisheries Academy

  • Committee member, Southern Bluefin Tuna Research Council

Brian Hemmings.jpg
Brian Hemmings PSM, JP

Mr Hemmings brings with him a wealth of knowledge and experience from his time working at the Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA).


  • Director, Australian Maritime & Fisheries Academy Board

  • National Operations Manager AMSA (RETIRED Oct 2018)

Paul Vandenbergh

Experienced Program Manager with a demonstrated history of working in the sports industry. Skilled in Training Delivery, Management, Community Engagement, Policy Analysis, and Organisational Development.