Port Adelaide Campus

20 North Parade,

Port Adelaide. S.A 5015

(08) 8303 2780

Email: info@afa.edu.au

© 2018 Australian Maritime and Fisheries Academy

Port Lincoln Campus

9 North Quay Blvd

Port Lincoln  S.A 5606

(08) 8683 4888

Email: mswalue@afa.edu.au

Darwin Campus

Level 1, Darwin Ship Stores Building

Fishermans Place N.T. 0800

(08) 8981 9874

0493 845 507

Email: cfrancis@afa.edu.au

Our Board

Hagen Stehr A.O. - Chairman. 

Mr Stehr is a prominent figure in the aquaculture industry with more than 50 years experience. His family holds a significant interest in the Southern Bluefin Tuna catch and Kingfish grow out facility. Mr Stehr's achievements include:

  • Founding member of Australian Bight Seafood.

  • Founding member of Australian Tuna Boat Owners Association.

  • Chairman of Australian Maritime and Fisheries Academy since 1997. 

  • Former Chairman of South Australian Marine Finfish Farmers Association.

  • Chairman of Industry Training Council Advisory Body.

  • Founding Director of Clean Seas Seafood.

  • Board member of the South Australian Aquaculture Advisory Council.

  • Awarded Officer of the Order of Australia (A.O.) in 1998.

  • Awarded Honorary Doctorate by University of Sunshine Coast.

Hon Nick Bolkus

The Honourable Mr Nick Bolkus has a Bachelor of Law and was a former Cabinet Minister during the Hawke/Keating Governments between 1987 - 1996.  He was a Senator representing South Australia from 1981 - 2005. Mr Bolkus has served as a board member of the following companies.

  • Chairman of Nuturf Australia Pty Ltd.

  • Envirogreen Pty Ltd.

  • Wondertreat Australia Pty Ltd.

  • Adviser to Australian Hokkien Association.

Dr Mehdi Doroudi

Dr Doroudi has a PHD in the field of Marine Biology and Aquaculture and a Doctorate of Veterinary science. 

  • Group Executive Director Primary Industries and Regions South Australia (PIRSA).

  • Chief Scientist (SARDI).

  • Research Director Department Primary Industries Victoria.

  • Research Scientist NSW Fisheries.

Mr Brian Jefferies A.M. - Deputy Chair

Mr Jefferies has a Diploma of Education and a B.A .(Economics). His considerable experience in the aquaculture industry includes:

  • CEO Australian Bluefin Tuna Industry Association.

  • Commonwealth Fisheries Association.

  • Aquaculture Advisory Council.

  • Fisheries and Aquaculture Research Advisory Committee.

  • Australian Fisheries Management Authority.

Mr Steve Moriarty

Mr Moriarty is a well-known identity within the fishing industry. He has technical qualifications as a Master 5 (Fishing) and a Marine Engine Driver 2. Mr Moriarty is currently a member of the following:

  • Managing Director of Southern Waters Marine Products Ltd.

  • Member SA Oyster Growers Association.

  • Member of SA Rock Lobster Advisory Committee.

Mr Marcus Stehr

Mr Marcus Stehr has over 25 years of practical fishing knowledge and is the current Managing Director of Stehr Group Pty Ltd in Port Lincoln. Mr Stehr has maritime technical qualifications as Master 4 Fishing/Trading Skippers certificates, Marine Engine Driver 1 and is a licensed Dive Master. Mr Stehr serves (has served) on the following boards:

  • Director of Australian Tuna Fisheries.

  • Inaugural board member of Clean Seas Seafood Limited.

  • Board member of South Australian Marine Finfish Association.

  • Executive Director of Australian Southern Bluefin Tuna Industry Association.

  • Deputy member of Aquaculture Advisory Committee.

  • Board member of Australian Maritime and Fisheries Academy.

  • Inaugural board member of Seafood Industry Australia.

Mr Steve Hinge

Mr Hinge is active on many areas within the seafood industry. He is involved with the following boards.

  • Board member of Seafood Development Board.

  • Director of Gold Bank Nominee Pty Ltd.

  • Director of Zambia Bay Pty Ltd.

Mr Michael Dyer

Mr Dyer brings over 30 years of industry experience to the board. He has qualifications as a Marine Engine Driver Grade 1, Diploma in Marine Surveying.

  • Managing Director of Dycraft.

  • Managing Director of Oceanic Victor.

Mr Bob Miller - Chief Executive Officer

Mr Miller is the current CEO of the AMFA.